Beyond Section 508 Digital Accessibility Requirements: An Overview of Web Accessibility Requirements from WCAG 2.1 and 2.2

Event Date/Time: 

Tuesday, July 30th, 2024
1:00 PM EDT - 2:30 PM EDT


Via Zoom Webinar Platform


WCAG 2.0 Level AA became the web accessibility requirement under Section 508 in March of 2017. WCAG 2.1 became a finalized standard in June 2018 and WCAG 2.2 became a finalized standard in October 2023. The European Union has been using WCAG 2.1 for five years. In April 2023, the DOJ published a final rule setting WCAG 2.1 as the standard under the ADA for state and local governments (Title II). If your organization is using only WCAG 2.0 Level AA to audit your web properties, what accessibility features are you missing? Bruce and Rachael will explore and answer this question by reviewing the Success Criteria added in WCAG 2.1 and 2.2 as well as AAA requirements from WCAG 2.0.

General Accommodations: 

American Sign Language (ASL)
Open or Closed Captions
Materials Available in Alternate Formats

From the Sponsor: 

Region 5 - Great Lakes ADA Center


State and Local Government, ADA Coordinator, Consumer Advocate, Family Member of Person With Disability, Federal or Non-Federal Partner, Industry Representative or Product Developer, Policy Expert, Service Provider


Accessible Technologies


ACTCP Credit, Attendance




$ 0.00

Registration Deadline: 

Monday, July 29, 2024

Other Sponsor: 

U.S. Access Board and CIO Council